towns and 140 communities. In addition, there are 56 quasi-municipal areas known as local service districts. Cities, towns and communities have elected councils. The metropolitan area has appointed trustees. The local service districts have elected committees.

St. John's, the capital of Newfoundland, was one of the earliest sites of New World settlement. The St. John's metropolitan area covers the area adjoining and surrounding the city of St. John's and the town of Mount Pearl and is similar in organization to a local improvement district.

Prince Edward Island has one city, eight towns and 30 villages, all of which are incorporated. Thirty-nine community improvement committees provide a measure of local services to the unincorporated areas of the province. Charlottetown, the capital, was first incorporated in 1855. Five regional administrative units provide elementary and secondary education for the province, with the individual boards elected by residents of the units.

Nova Scotia is divided into 18 counties; 12 constitute separate municipalities and the remaining six are each divided into two municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Within these municipalities are 25 incorporated villages that provide limited services. Three cities and 39 towns, although located within counties or districts, are entirely independent of them except as to joint expenditures. There is no part of the province that is not municipally organized.

Halifax, capital of Nova Scotia, and part of the largest metropolitan area in the Atlantic provinces, is governed by an elected council consisting of a mayor and 12 aldermen, one for each of 12 wards.

New Brunswick municipal organization includes six cities, 23 towns and 85 villages. The remainder of the province is not municipally organized and is administered by the provincial government. There are 239 unincorporated local service districts which are not municipal organizations but were established to provide services of a municipal nature.

Fredericton is the capital of New Brunswick and the third largest city. Saint John is the largest city and Moncton is second.

Quebec. The more densely settled areas comprising about one-third of the province are municipally organized; the remainder is governed by the province which administers the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement.

Since 1981, Quebec has been reorganizing cities, towns and municipalities into regional county municipalities. The primary responsibility of a regional county municipality is to develop a planning scheme, that is, to define planning objectives and determine land use for its entire territory. It may also be responsible for real estate assessment or for operating a waste management system, to name two

examples. By January 1982, approximately 40 regional county municipalities had been created.

In 1981, there were 267 cities and towns, 1,249 municipalities and 20 native villages. Major municipal consolidations began in 1965 with the fusion of the 14 municipalities on Île Jésus into the new city of Laval. In 1970, the Montréal and Québec Urban Communities and the Outaouais Regional Community were established with integration of municipal services to be staged gradually.

Québec is the capital city and Montréal is the incorporated city with the largest population.

Ontario. In Ontario, slightly more than 10% of the area includes 95% of the total population and is municipally organized; the remainder is under direct provincial administration. The settled section is divided into one metropolitan municipality, 12 regional municipalities, 27 counties and regional districts. There are 49 cities including the five boroughs of Metropolitan Toronto, 145 towns, 119 villages, 479 townships and 17 improvement districts. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, in existence since January 1954, encompasses one city and five boroughs and is responsible for assessments, police, water supply, sewerage, metropolitan road systems and planning. The regional municipalities of Durham, Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara, Ottawa-Carleton, Peel, Sudbury, Waterloo and York have replaced county administrations and assumed certain responsibilities over all municipalities within their boundaries. The District Municipality of Muskoka has responsibilities, similar to those of the regional municipalities, over the reorganized municipalities of the former district of Muskoka. This form of regional government is contemplated in other areas. Each county, although an incorporated municipality, comprises the towns (with the exception of five separated towns), villages and townships within it. Some municipalities are located outside the counties in areas called districts. These districts in Western and Northern Ontario are not municipal entities.

Toronto, the capital of Ontario, had been the capital of Upper Canada before Confederation. Hamilton is the second largest incorporated city in Ontario, followed in population size by Ottawa, the national capital.

Manitoba has five cities, 35 towns, 40 villages and 105 rural municipalities. There are also 17 local government districts which perform the same general functions as municipalities. They are administered by administrators who act, in most districts, on the advice of elected councils, but are subject to the final authority of the minister of municipal affairs.

In Manitoba, the capital city of Winnipeg and 11 surrounding municipalities, after 12 years under the partial central authority of the Metropolitan